I am still here, by the way!   4 comments

Yes, I’ve been quiet. Busy setting, mostly, but there’s another project on the go – it may come to nothing, but I’m giving it a go.

Some years ago in London, possibly at the Times Championships or it may have been a Sloggers & Betters gathering, I was on my way to a restaurant with John Henderson (Enigmatist/Elgar) who, out of the blue, suggested I should write a book about crosswords.

At the time – flattered as I was – I laughed it off. Been done before; that was a partial reason. The main one was “Who the hell am I to do such a thing?”

More recently I had an idea. Because I started this game at such a ridiculously early age, why not have a clue-writing guide but mix it up with… well, not an autobiography (boring!) but an account of how crosswords became so important to me?

It’s early stages and, as I say, it may come to nothing, but I’m gradually putting a manuscript together to see how it goes. The resulting absence of regular posts here isn’t a sign of anything untoward.

I’m still not convinced it’s a good idea anyway.

Posted November 16, 2015 by Anax in Uncategorized

4 responses to “I am still here, by the way!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As soon as you said you had another project on the go I thought, I bet he’s organising his CDs into alphabetical order but using genre subsets and it’ll end in tears over the definition of R&B.
    Joking apart, your writing a book is a great idea and I hope you crack on with it. “Who the hell am I to do such a thing?” is a healthy point of view to begin with, but I wouldn’t be without the handful of books on cryptic crosswords that I own, all different in their own way, and there’s always room for another from any of the top professional setters.
    What you’ve already written at crosswordunclued.com and Big Dave’s blog etc is fascinating and enlightening, and we could do with more.

    Michael Lloyd-Jones
  2. I look forward to it!

  3. Hi Dean.

    Just finished your puzzle in the Sunday Times. Brilliant. Loved it.

    Judas seen here appropriately!

    Outstanding clue.

    Good luck with the new book.

  4. Re ST Christmas puzzle 4673..loved it. Fair, funny as, and challenging. And I got the odd one wrong to begin with. The ‘very naughty boy one’ was deliciously funny.

    Have a good Christmas

Leave a comment